News and views on motorsports

Friday, June 12, 2009

Stand Off Continues?

After much anticipation, the list of competitors for the 2010 championship has been revealed. All the FOTA teams are in (some provisionally) plus 3 new teams. These being Campos, Manor (?!!!) and Team USF1, all running Cosworth engines. The exclusion of Prodrive and Lola are very surprising to me since they have been among the loudest to shout out their intentions.

Of the 8 FOTA teams, 5 of them - McLaren, BMW, Renault, Toyota and Brawn - have been marked as provisional with further disucssions to be held and concluded no later than June 19th. Ferrari, Toro Rosso and Red Bull are marked as confirmed. Whether this is due to contractual obligations (as asserted by the FIA) or the teams themselves have submitted unconditionally is not known at this time.

Not sure about Red Bull for some reports indicate that they have submitted unconditional entries but I'd be surprised if Ferrari have succumbed to the FIA and bought out with vast sums of money and privileges. Well assuming for now that Ferrari are still with FOTA, all this tells me is that the FIA still consider the FOTA teams to be indispensible (as well they should be) . The real result we have been waiting for (race or break) is postponed for another week.

No comments: